Man flu

February 5, 2010

So I haven’t actually forgotten about this blog (yet), just been a crazy couple of weeks (sister’s first baby, soton offer, manchester interview, nan’s bypass surgery). Queen Mary’s Hospital seemed like a world away from the place I volunteer at when I was visiting my nan. It  actually a bit eye opening; I’d almost forgotten what it was like to be a patient or visitor in the hospital and the whole experience has put my view of hospitals back into perspective and reminded me that it’s all about the patient. No more getting annoyed at angry complaints about my tea/ coffee, after all, what do I have to complain about? They’re the ill ones, the least i can do is get them a half decent cuppa. The whole experience really got to me more than I’d care to admit anywhere else, reminded me of seeing my Granddad lying in a bed in that very same hospital. At least this time I was there for my Nan.

Still no word from manchester. Will update again when my nose is less runny =].Oh yeah, and nan’s fine, triple bypass was performed beautifully and she should be back up and running in no time. Definitely not in the literal sense though.

Rip Granddad. I hope I’m making you proud.

Leave a Reply

